Jump to content


Scott Carl

Member Since 02 Sep 2013
Offline Last Active Aug 13 2017 08:37 AM
-----

About Me

I am a DIYer from birth. I was born in Carson City Nv, but moved a lot due to my dad's Marine Corps career. As a combat engineer and mechanic, he taught me the value of working with my hands. Following high school, I too, went into the Marines where I was a jet engine mechanic. It was a short stint due to a motorcycle accident but using part of my GI Bill, I learned to weld and spent the next 25 years in production welding, CNC flame and plasma cutting and CNC drilling. As my motorcycle injuries caught up with me I went back to school and got a BS in systems and network admin. However, desk work wasn't for me so I am now a full time hobbyist.

 

My interests lie primarily in metal work but I also dabble in old cars (mostly one old Challenger :D) Bonsai, computers, and anything else that tickles my fancy at the particular time. I would like to work with glass somewhere down the line and have plans to find a kiln to incorporated pottery into my/our work. I say "our", because I am in the process of bringing my 3 daughters, 30, 33 and 36 into the shop and help them explore their individual creativity. We are calling our venture "Five Maples Forge". I have a FB page under this name if you're interested to look, but currently, it only contains my work. Once they start creating their works, we have a web page we will publish under the name fivemaplesforge.com Watch for it to be published in the next year or so. :)

 

Scott 


Community Stats


  • Group Members
  • Active Posts 87
  • Profile Views 3,426
  • Member Title Skilled Metalsmith
  • Age 62 years old
  • Birthday September 1, 1955
  • Gender
    Not Telling Not Telling
  • Location
    Omaha, Ne

Converted


  • State
    Nebraska
  • Country
    USA
  • City
    Omaha

22 Excellent

User Tools

Friends

Latest Visitors