Tony Mertens

Metal Master

• Subscriber!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,293 posts
  • LocationNew Holstein, WI

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:59 PM

Note to self -

Next time you buy coal sweep all of the sand out of the dump truck first. [Doh!] [Doh!] I'm thinking that's why I seem to get a lot of klinker. The amount varies depending on where I dig into my coal pile. Maybe I should get into making glass. [Laugh]

#2 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:36 PM

It might help, but generally clinker content has to do with the make up and type of coal. It also can do with the way it is fired, but you are burning a lot less at one time than I did in the boilers! Posted Image
glen

Posted Image

"I am not ashamed to admit, that I am ignorant of the things I do not know"!

Cicero

I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!

All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

#3 knots43

knots43

Metal Master

• Metal Artist Forum Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts
  • LocationNorth Western Virginia

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:18 AM

I don't know if this will be helpful or not but it may be worth trying if the problem really is sand contamination.