• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Promethium

Promethium

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 10:21 AM

Hi Gentleman from Ireland. I have been working in copper and pewter for about six months, have just joined the forum, wishing to say Hallo. Hallo there!! Wondering you know about what I can offer. Patinas are my speciality, I refuse to buy them....I love chemistry and pretty much can hold my own in this field so I make all my own chemicals. Now I am freely available to answer any questions and swap recipes, tha's if anyone needs to, after all I am only six months in, but have spent so many hours experimenting.

Now the one thing I am after is the purple or purple violet range. I tried some of the recipes that I found on the net, actually there are only two recipes. But they do not work really that well. I can get a LOS purple but not exactly what I need. Chemicals are superior in that you can exercise real control, and above all, predictability and consistency. Heta does not bring me purple very well and besides, I need to brush purple on in certain areas so both heat and LOS are a little short changed here.

So, to start off...anyone have any suggestions they might care to share and anything I can do in return?

Kind regards

#2 ShawnM

ShawnM

Local Sheriff

• Moderators
  • 4,144 posts
  • LocationGeneva, FL

Posted 20 April 2012 - 10:49 AM

Hi and Posted Image to MAF.

I assume you've looked here? Also Ganoksin has some info and links on patinas of various colors.

Personally I would probably just use solvent dye Posted Image but that doesn't meet your homegrown requirement.

It would be great if you posted up some of your favorite recipes/effects, along with photos of the result.
ShawnM
Super DUPER Moderator

‚ÄéReality leaves a lot to the imagination ~ John Lennon

Visit my website: Soleil MetalArts
Facebook Fan Page

#3 Promethium

Promethium

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 10:59 AM