• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 08 February 2011 - 06:56 AM

Since this question does come up a lot, no matter what type a forum the metal worker is dealing with. Somebody on a model engineering/machine shop forum from across the pond put the link to this site. It has some interesting tips, and good safety and health.
Silver Soldering tips

Posted Image
glen

Posted Image

"I am not ashamed to admit, that I am ignorant of the things I do not know"!

Cicero

I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!

All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

#2 bigfootnampa

bigfootnampa

Skilled Metalsmith

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 08 February 2011 - 07:18 AM

Interesting but choices are much broader than it presents. Personally I prefer to use Battern's self pickling flux for most purposes. I have had great results with it in a broad range of applications over many years of use.

#3 knots43

knots43

Metal Master

• Metal Artist Forum Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts
  • LocationNorth Western Virginia

Posted 11 February 2011 - 01:51 PM

Today tried to silver braze with a Benzomatic Mapp Gas torch. It didn't work. In the past I have used OXY-Acetylene and have never had a problem. Maybe my flux is old ( it was kind of dry) or is there something about the Benzomatic /Mapp torch that complicates silver brazing ?

I want to change from acetylene to propane for heating/bending Is Oxy-propane a good heat source for silver brazing ? Seems like it should work.

Bigfoot - I will try the Battern's flux if I can find some.

#4 AvishaiW

AvishaiW

Metal Master

• Subscriber!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,660 posts
  • LocationHaifa, Israel