#1 jumpinjivinjoe

jumpinjivinjoe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
  • LocationKennewick, WA

Posted 02 February 2011 - 01:32 PM

I ordered some Japanese Brown, a "Vista Patina", and a "Universal Patina". Do I need to remove mill scale from hot rolled steel for these patinas to work? I usually use a wire wheel on an angle grinder, but that takes an unpractical amount of time. An abrasive flap disk wears out too fast. How do you all remove the mill scale?

ps I buy remnant steel which is almost always hot rolled.

Thanks

#2 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 02 February 2011 - 01:41 PM

Try using the the forum search function, with the term removing mill scale. There are a number of threads on that subject. No point in retyping stuff over and over!

glen

Posted Image

"I am not ashamed to admit, that I am ignorant of the things I do not know"!

Cicero

I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!

All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

#3 ShawnM

ShawnM

Local Sheriff

• Moderators
  • 4,143 posts
  • LocationGeneva, FL

Posted 02 February 2011 - 02:09 PM

I ordered some Japanese Brown, a "Vista Patina", and a "Universal Patina". Do I need to remove mill scale from hot rolled steel for these patinas to work? I usually use a wire wheel on an angle grinder, but that takes an unpractical amount of time. An abrasive flap disk wears out too fast. How do you all remove the mill scale?

ps I buy remnant steel which is almost always hot rolled.

Thanks