4 replies to this topic

#1 metalfusion

metalfusion

Shop Sweeper

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:25 PM

Hello all, I am really new to CNC and metal work, but I have figured out the metal color/coatings I want on my pieces, I want steel to slightly start oxidizing to get a light rust coloring, not the heavy duty rust and corrosion, but just the rusty color. What I don't know anything about, where to start looking, etc is what I can treat the finished steel with so that rust color (that is actually the beginning of rust) will rub off on hands and clothes. I want the color, and I don't know what to treat it with so that it won't rub off, won't leave a shiny sheen, but will look natural.

I have searched the forum, and either am not using great search terms, or am not sure what I should search for (more likely) but there has to be a way to do this or a product that will do this for me -

Any ideas/suggestions would be helpful
thanks!

#2 Tony Mertens

Tony Mertens

Metal Master

• Subscriber!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,282 posts
  • LocationNew Holstein, WI

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:51 PM

Welcome to MAF. [Welcome] Check out the "Preserving Patinas" forum. Search there for clear coats. Just be aware that once you start the rust you will need to neutralize it to stop it then clear coat. Quite e few of us here use Permalac clear. Eventually the rust will probably win no matter what you use. Also check out the "Patina" forum. You may be able to use some of the dyes that are discussed if you are only after the color. Good luck.

Edited by Tony Mertens, 22 November 2010 - 08:52 PM.

#3 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 22 November 2010 - 09:51 PM

[Welcome] to the forum, with so little info to go on it will be hard to get a great workable answer.

Is the piece going to be inside, or outside?

Is it going to be handled or not?

Is it smaller than a bread box or larger?