• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 25 June 2010 - 06:07 AM

Here is an interesting site, for those that my be interested in charcoal use and types for the forge. It was originally intended for the BBQ/Pit/Smoker crowd. As some claim as with a fine wine, they can tell what brand it is by the smell. [Peace} Anyway here is the link for the reviews test results and links along with other stuff that might prove useful. Ash content, how hot it gets etc. its all there. Along with color photo's of the packaging, contact info or where to buy it. If you use charcoal you might be able to get it by the pallet or truck load.

Lump Charcoal Database, who woulda thunk!

Here is a thread on using charcoal, in a forge

[Worthy]
glen

Posted Image

"I am not ashamed to admit, that I am ignorant of the things I do not know"!

Cicero

I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!

All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

#2 Gene Chapman

Gene Chapman

Skilled Metalsmith

• Metal Artist Forum Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts

Posted 25 June 2010 - 08:37 PM

That makes me want to bar-be-cue.
www.oakandiron.com

#3 Frosty

Frosty

Maker of things

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 775 posts

Posted 21 July 2010 - 03:48 PM

I've been trying to think of a snappy comeback since you posted the link Glen but darned if I can think of anything to say that's anywhere as silly as a lump charcoal data base. I mean . . . REALLY!
Frosty
Carpe Extremitas Frigus!

#4 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts

Posted 21 July 2010 - 04:02 PM