#1 LouieIV

LouieIV

Shop Sweeper

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 June 2010 - 05:54 PM

First off Hi, this is my first post.
I'm just I'm just getting started in blacksmithing. Putting together my first forge (propane). The design is off Larry Zoeller's website. I'm starting out with a single burner, but designing/building as a dual burner so that I can add a second burner (down the road) to ensure forge welding temps.

I'm going to copy and paste my post from another forum cause it's rather long. Thought I'd ask here too to cover all my basses.

So I'm getting ready to cut the holes for 2 burners (one will be plugged until I get a 2nd burner), I was going to put them evenly off center. To explain I found the center of the interior of the forge (front to back) then split the distance front and for each burner hole. When i made the markings the front burner seemed kinda close to the front of the forge. So I started looking at pics of dual burner forges. Some of them appear to bias the burners toward the center. Each burner is still equal distance from the center (front to back) of the forge, but not splitting the distance between center and front/back rather slightly closer to center than front or back. Is this making any sense??

Example:
Back wall to front wall is 10 in.
Center of the forge is 5 in. from either wall.
So if everything was equal center of each burner would be 2.5 in off center.
With me so far (not sure I am)

This just seems like the front burner is too close to the front to me.

So some pics look like the burners are biased towards center.
Example:
Same forge as above but put burners at 2 in off center. This of course would mean they are at 3 in. from the front and back walls.
Would this be a better design?

Clear as mud??

If you made it through all this and can make sense of my ramblings, I would much appreciate your advice and opinions.

Thanks,
LouieIV

#2 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts