20 replies to this topic

#1 Steve Shelby

Steve Shelby

Metal Master

• Metal Artist Forum Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 02:58 PM

I'm Making a sculpture, a bird, like this one: http://www.metalarti...ad.php?tid=4596, except much larger and, for the first time, I'm using 1/16" silicon bronze (alloy 655). I have never made anything out of bronze before. I'm wondering what to do when I get to joining the seam. My expertise is in silver-soldering, and I have very little experience with brazing, using that brass-colored brazing rod from the welding supply store, and when I have, I was not very happy with the results. As a matter of fact, my supply of brazing rod was purchased over 30 years ago, and I still have most of it left. The bronze is a light copper color, so I'm thinking silver solder might show up quite a bit. The brazing rod I have is yellow, like brass, so I think that wouldn't be any better than silver solder. Everything I've read about silicon bronze says it can be easily welded by any method. The problem is, it's a butt joint, which is the most difficult, IMO, and with my lack of experience, I can see me melting a hole in it and ending up with ten hours of work being scrapped. What are my options? Is there brazing rod available that would match the color of the bronze? BTW, I have to use a torch; I don't have MIG or TIG or any of that fancy stuff. Any guidance would be appreciated. [Beer]

#2 Tony Mertens

Tony Mertens

Metal Master

• Subscriber!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,298 posts
  • LocationNew Holstein, WI

Posted 04 October 2009 - 03:10 PM

Talk to your local welding supply house. I know you can get silicone bronze TIG rods so they should have them for the torch. I'm not too familiar with O/A welding - they may even be the same rod for either process.

#3 PTsideshow

PTsideshow

• Moderators
  • 8,479 posts
  • LocationMount Clemens,Mi

Posted 04 October 2009 - 03:39 PM